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TAXATION § 38-3

ARTICLE 1. IN GENERAL

Sec. 38-1. When county taxes due and payable.

For each taxable year, all county taxes on personal property, machinery and tools and
merchants' capital shall be due and payable and paid, by or on behalf of persons owing such
taxes, in one installment on or pefore December 5 of the taxable year. County taxes on real
estate shall be due and payable and paid, by or on behalf of persons owing such taxes, in two
equal installments, with one installment due and payable on or before of June 5 of the taxable
year, and the second or remaining installment due and payable on or before December 5 of the
taxable year. If any such tax shall fall on a day when the county treasurer's office is closed, all
such taxes due on such date shall be due and payable on the first business day thereafter.
(Ord. No. 098-06, 11-17-1998; Ord. No. 05-09, § 1, 9-13-2005)

State law reference—Authority to establish date for filing returns, penalties and interest
and payment by installments, Code of Virginia, §§ 15.2-745, 58.1-3916.

Sec. 38-2. Reserved.

Editor’s note—Ord. No. 05-09, § 2, adopted Sept. 13, 2005, repealed § 38-2, which
pertained to collection of county personal property taxes and derived from Ord. No. 01-08,
adopted Dec. 18, 2001.

Sec. 38-3. Penalties, interest, administrative fees and collection fees on delinquent
accounts.

(a) If any person whose duty it is to do so shall fail or refuse to file any return or report
required by this chapter or to remit the tax required to be collected and paid under this chapter
within the time and in the amount specified in this chapter, there shall be added to such tax
by the treasurer a penalty in the amount of ten percent of the tax past due or $10.00,
whichever is greater; provided, however, that the penalty shall in no case exceed the amount
of the tax assessable.

(b) In addition to the penalty provided for by this section, if any tax provided for in this
chapter is not paid on or before the due date indicated, interest at the rate of ten percent per
year shall commence on the first day following the date that the tax imposed is due and shall
be collected upon the principal and penalties of all such taxes then remaining unpaid.

(c) Any account owed to the county for taxes or other charges which has become delinquent
in accordance with general law or assessment shall be charged such amount as provided by
Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3958, as the same may be amended from time to time. Such
administrative fee shall be considered a part of the principal owed to the county and the same
shall be subject to any interest or penalty charged thereto.

(d) There shall be charged against any delinquent account that has been referred to an
attorney or a collection agency for collection reasonable attorneys' fees or collection agency
fees, which shall not exceed 20 percent of the taxes or other charges so collected; provided,
however, attorneys' fees shall be added only if such delinquency is collected by an action at law
or suit in equity.
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(e) Any account collected pursuant to the Virginia Debt Setoff Collection Act, Code of
Virginia, § 58.1-520 et seq., shall be charged such amount as may be allowed under the act.

(f) There shall be established an administrative fee associated with collection of any
nuisance abatement lien in an amount not exceed the maximum allowable under Code of
Virginia, § 58.1-3958, as the same may be amended from time to time.

(g) The penalties, interest and fees established by this section shall be in addition to any
other fee or charge that may be applicable to delinquent accounts within the county.

(h) Fees authorized by this section shall be collected by the treasurer as a representative of
the county and remitted to the county general fund.
(Ord. No. 04-01, 2-17-2004; Ord. No. 05-09, § 3, 9-13-2005)

Sec. 38-4. Personal property tax exemptions.

(a) Farm animals, grains, agricultural products, farm machinery and farm equipment. The
following items are exempt from personal property taxation:

(1) Horses, mules, and other kindred animals.

(2) Cattle.

(8) Sheep and goats.
(4) Hogs.

(56) Poultry.

(6) Grains and other feeds used for the nurture of farm animals.

(7) Grain; tobacco; wine produced by farm wineries as defined in Code of Virginia,
§ 4.1-100, and other agricultural products in the hands of a producer.

(8) All farm machinery and farm implements, including equipment and machinery used
by farm wineries as defined in Code of Virginia, § 4.1-100, in the production of wine.

(9) Equipment used by farmers or farm cooperatives qualifying under § 521 of the Internal
Revenue Code to manufacture industrial ethanol, provided that the materials from
which the ethanol is derived consist primarily of farm products.

(10) Privately owned trailers as defined in Code of Virginia, § 46.2-100, that are primarily
used by farmers in their farming operations for the transportation of farm animals or
other farm products as enumerated in subsections (1) through (7) above.

(b) Households goods and personal effects. The following items are exempt from personal
property taxation:

(1) Bicyecles.

(2) Household and kitchen furniture, including gold and silver plates, plated ware,
watches and clocks, sewing machines, refrigerators, automatic refrigerating machin-
ery of any type, vacuum cleaners and all other household machinery, books, firearms
and weapons of all kinds.
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(3)

(4)
(5)

(6)
(7)
(8

9)

TAXATION § 38-5

Pianos, organs, and all other musical instruments; phonographs, record players, and
records to be used therewith; and radio and television instruments and equipment.

Oil paintings, pictures, statuary, curios, articles of virtu and works of art.

Diamonds, cameos or other precious stones and all precious metals used as ornaments
or jewelry.

Sporting and photographic equipment.
Clothing and objects of apparel.

Antique motor vehicles as defined in Code of Virginia, § 46.2-100, which may not be
used for general transportation purposes.

All other tangible personal property used by an individual or a family or household
incident to maintaining an abode.

The classification set forth in subsection (b) shall apply only to such property owned and
used by an individual or by a family or household incident to maintaining an abode.
Furthermore, notwithstanding any provision set forth above, household appliances, as defined
in Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3504, in residential rental property used by an individual or by a
family or household incident to maintaining an abode shall be deemed to be fixtures and shall
be assessed as part of the real property in which they are located.

(Ord. No. 04-10, 10-19-2004; Ord. No. 04-11, 10-19-2004)

Sec. 38-5. Personal property tax relief.

(a) Purpose; definitions; relation to other ordinances.

(D

(2)

3

The purpose of this section is to provide for the implementation of the changes to the
Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 (PPTRA) effected by the legislation adopted
during the 2004 Special Session I and the 2005 Regular Session of the General
Assembly of Virginia.

Terms used in this section that have defined meanings set forth in PPTRA shall have
the same meanings as set forth in Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3523, as amended.

To the extent that the provisions of this ordinance conflict with any prior ordinance or
resolution or provision of the County of Craig Code, this section shall control.

(b) Method of computing and reflecting tax relief.

(€Y

(2

For tax years commencing in 2006, the County of Craig adopts the provisions of item
503.E of the 2005 Appropriations Act, providing for the computation of tax relief as a
specific dollar amount to be offset against the total taxes that would otherwise be due
for PPTRA and the reporting of such specific dollar relief on the tax bill.

The board shall, as part of its annual budget adopted pursuant to the Code of Virginia,
Chapter 25 of title 15.2, set the rate of tax relief at such a level that it is anticipated
fully to exhaust PPTRA relief funds provided to the County of Craig by the common-
wealth.
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Personal property tax bills shall set forth on their face the specific dollar amount of
relief credited with respect to each qualifying vehicle, together with an explanation of
the general manner in which relief is allocated.

(c) Allocation of relief among taxpayers.

(1)

(2)

(3

Allocation of PPTRA relief shall be provided in accordance with the general provisions
of this section, as implemented by the specific provisions of the County of Craig's
annual budget relating to PPTRA relief.

Relief shall be allocated in such a manner as to eliminate personal property taxation
of each qualifying vehicle with an assessed value of $1,000.00 or less.

Relief with respect to qualifying vehicles with assessed values of more than $1,000.00
shall be provided at a rate annually fixed in the County of Craig's budget and applied
to the first $20,000.00 in value of each such qualifying vehicle, that is estimated fully
to use all available state PPTRA relief. The rate shall be established annually as part
of the adopted budget for the county.

(d) Transitional provisions.

&Y

(2)

Pursuant to authority conferred in item 503.D of the 2005 Appropriations Act, the
county treasurer is authorized to issue a supplemental personal property tax bill, in
the amount of 100 percent of tax due without regard to any former entitlement to state
PPTRA relief, plus applicable penalties and interest, to any taxpayer whose taxes with
respect to a qualifying vehicle for tax year 2005 or any prior tax year remain unpaid
on September 1, 2006, or such date as state funds for reimbursement of the state share
of such bill have become unavailable, whichever earlier occurs.

Penalty and interest with respect to bills issued pursuant to subsection (d)(1) of this
section shall be computed on the entire amount of tax owed. Interest shall be computed
at the rate provided in the Code of Ordinances of Craig County, section 38-3, as the
same may be amended from time to time, from the original due date of the tax.

(Ord. No. 05-11, § 1, 12-13-2005)

Editor’s note—Ord. No. 05-11, § 1, adopted Dec. 13, 2005, amended and reordained the
county Code by the addition of § 38-4. Inasmuch as there already exists such a section, these
provisions were redesignated as § 38-5, to avoid duplication of numbers.

Secs. 38-6—38-25. Reserved.

ARTICLE II. AD VALOREM TAXES

DIVISION 1. GENERALLY

Secs. 38-26—38-50. Reserved.
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DIVISION 2. EXEMPTION FOR ELDERLY, DISABLED*

Sec. 38-51. Definitions.

The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this division, shall have the
meanings ascribed to them in this section, except where the context clearly indicates a
different meaning:

Affidavit means the tax exemption affidavit provided for in this division.

Commissioner of the revenue means the commissioner of the revenue of the county or his
duly authorized deputies or agents.

Dwelling means the building or mobile home owned or partially owned by and occupied as
the sole residence of the person claiming exemption under this division, including up to one
acre of the land on which it is situated.

Mobile home means an industrialized building unit constructed on a chassis for towing to
the point of use and designed to be used, without a permanent foundation, for continuous
year-round occupancy as a dwelling or two or more such units separately towable, but designed
to be joined together at the point of use to form a single dwelling and which is designed for
removal to and installation or erection on other sites.

Permanently and totally disabled means unable to engage in any substantial gainful
activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment or deformity
which can be expected to result in death or can be expected to last for the duration of such
person's life.

Taxable year means the calendar year from January 1 through December 31 for which
exemption is claimed under this division.
(Ord. of 10-17-2000)

Cross reference—Definitions generally, § 1-2.

Sec. 38-52. Authorized maximum amount.

Tax exemption is hereby provided for the dwelling of qualified property owners who are not
less than 65 years of age or who are otherwise eligible according to the provisions of this
division. Persons qualifying for exemption are deemed to be bearing an extraordinary tax
burden on the property described in this division in relation to their income and financial
worth. Persons qualifying for and claiming exemption under this division shall be exempt from
the amount of the taxes assessed against such property in an amount not to exceed $200.00.
(Ord. of 10-17-2000)

*State law reference—Exemption for elderly, disabled, authorized, Code of Virginia,
§ 58.1-3210.
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Sec. 38-53. Administration; rules and regulations of commissioner of the revenue.

The exemption provided for in this division shall be administered by the commissioner of the
revenue, with assistance from the director of social services, according to the provisions of this
division. The commissioner of the revenue is authorized and empowered to prescribe, adopt,
promulgate, and enforce such rules and regulations as may be reasonable and necessary to
determine qualifications for exemption in conformance with the provisions of this division. The
commissioner of the revenue shall require the production of certified tax returns to establish
the income or financial worth of any applicant for exemption or shall require an affidavit that
no such returns are required to be filed by state or federal law and shall also make such further
inquiry as may be reasonably necessary to determine qualification for such exemption.

(Ord. of 10-17-2000)

Sec. 38-54. General prerequisites to grant.
Exemption shall be granted to eligible persons subject to the following requirements:

(a) Adwelling jointly held by a husband and wife may qualify if either spouse is 65 or over
or if either spouse is permanently and totally disabled.

(b) The dwelling is occupied as the sole residence of the person or persons claiming
exemption; provided, however, that the residence of persons who are otherwise
qualified for tax exemption under this division for extended periods of time in
hospitals, nursing homes, convalescent homes, or other facilities for physical or mental
care shall not be construed to mean that the real estate for which exemption is sought
has ceased to be the sole dwelling of such persons during extended periods of other
residence unless such real estate is used by or leased to others for consideration.

(¢) The eligible person occupying such dwelling and owning title thereto is not less than
65 years of age on December 31 of the year immediately preceding the taxable year or
is determined to be totally and permanently disabled not later than December 31 of the
year immediately preceding the taxable year.

(d) The total gross combined income of the owners during the year immediately preceding
the taxable year shall be an amount not to exceed $30,000.00 as determined by the
commissioner of revenue. Gross combined income shall include all income from all
sources of the owners and the owners' relatives living in the dwelling for which
exemption is claimed, provided that the first $6,500.00 of the income of each relative,
other than the spouse of the owners, who is living in the dwelling shall not be included
in such total.

(e) The net combined financial worth, including equitable interests, as of December 31 of
the immediately preceding calendar year of the owner and of the spouse of any owners,
excluding the value of the dwelling and the land, not exceeding one acre, upon which
it is situated, does not exceed $90,000. The value of furnishings, such as furniture,
household appliances, and other items typically used in a home shall also be excluded
from the net combined financial worth of such owner.

(Ord. of 10-17-2000; Ord. No. 06-01, § 1, 1-19-2006; Ord. No. 07-02, § 1, 5-3-2007)
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Sec. 38-55. Claimant's affidavit and certificate of disability; commissioner of the
revenue's certification to treasurer.

(a) The person claiming exemption shall file annually with the commissioner of the revenue
a tax exemption affidavit. Such affidavit shall be filed after January 1 and not later than
March 1 of each year, except that the commissioner of the revenue may accept the first such
affidavit on or before May 31 or the first day thereafter which is not a Saturday, Sunday or
legal holiday and may accept within such time the affidavit for any year filed by a person who
he finds was prevented by genuine hardship from making such filing on or before May 1 of that
year.

(b) If the person claiming the exemption is under 65 years of age, such affidavit shall have
attached thereto a certification by the Social Security Administration, the Veteran's Admin-
istration, or the railroad retirement board, or if such person is not eligible for certification by
any of these agencies, a sworn affidavit by two medical doctors licensed to practice medicine
in this state to the effect that such person is permanently and totally disabled, as defined in
this division. The affidavit of at least one of such doctors shall be based upon a physical
examination of such person by such doctor. The affidavit of one of such doctors may be based
upon medical information contained in the records of the civil service commission which is
relevant to the standards for determining permanent and total disability, as defined in this
division.

(Ord. of 10-17-2000; Ord. No. 04-13, 10-19-2004)

Sec. 38-56. Effective date; change in circumstances.

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of this division, changes in respect to income, financial
worth, ownership of property, or other factors occurring during the taxable year for which an
affidavit is filed under this division having the effect of exceeding or violating the limitations
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and conditions set forth in this division shall nullify any exemption for the then-current year
and the taxable year immediately following and such exemption shall only be reinstated upon
reunification's inaccuracies with the limitations and conditions set forth in this division.

(b) Achange in ownership to a spouse, when such change has resulted solely from the death
of the qualifying individual, or a sale of USC property, shall result in a prorated exemption for
the then-current tax year. The proceeds of the sale which would result in the prorated
exemption shall not be included in the computation of net worth or income as provided in
subsection (a) of this section. Such prorated portion shall be determined by multiplying the
amount of the exemption by a fraction wherein the number of complete months of the year
such property was properly eligible for such exemption is the numerator and the number 12 is
the denominator.

(Ord. of 10-17-2000)

Sec. 38-57. False claims.

Any person who falsely claims an exemption or violates any provision of this division to
collect amounts exempted falsely shall be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor punishable as
provided in section 1-15.

(Ord. of 10-17-2000)

Secs. 38-58—38-80. Reserved.

ARTICLE III. RECORDATION TAX*

Sec. 38-81. Imposition.

Pursuant to the authority of Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3800 et seq., which is hereby adopted
and incorporated in this article by reference and made applicable within the county, it is
enacted that in addition to the state recordation tax imposed by Code of Virginia, § 58.1-800
et seq., the board of supervisors imposes a county recordation tax in an amount equal to
one-third of the amount of state recordation tax, collectible by the county on the first
recordation of every deed and taxable instrument, except a deed or instrument exempt from
taxation by law, which is admitted to record in the county, but the tax imposed by this article
shall be computed only with respect to property located in the county.

(Ord. of 11-1-1974)
State law reference—Similar provisions, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3800.

Sec. 38-82. Collection by clerk of court; payment into treasury; compensation.

The clerk of the circuit court of the county is authorized to collect the recordation tax and
pay the same into the treasury of the county, and the clerk shall be entitled to compensation
for such service in an amount equal to five per centum of an amount so collected and paid over.

(Ord. of 11-1-1974)
State law reference—Similar provisions, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3803.

*State law reference—Authority to levy tax, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3800.
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Secs. 38-83—38-105. Reserved.

ARTICLE IV. MEAL TAX*

Sec. 38-106. Definitions.

The following words and phrases, when used in this article, shall have, for the purposes of
this article, the following respective meanings except where the context clearly indicates a

different meaning:

Beverage means alcoholic beverages as defined in Code of Virginia, § 4.1-100 and nonalco-
holic beverages served as a part of a meal and purchased in and from a food establishment.

Cater means the furnishing of food, beverages, or both on the premises of another for

compensation.

Commissioner means the commissioner of the revenue of the county and any of his duly
authorized deputies, assistants, employees, or agents.

County means the County of Craig, Virginia.

Food means all food purchased in or from a food establishment, whether prepared in such
food establishment or not, and whether consumed on the premises or not, and without regard
to the manner, time, or place of service.

Food establishment means any place where food is prepared for service to the public on or
off the premises or any place where food is served, including, but not limited to, lunch rooms,
short-order places, cafeterias, coffee shops, cafes, taverns, delicatessens, dining accommoda-
tions of public or private corporations, dining accommodations of public and private schools
and colleges, mobile points of food service, such as pushcart operations, hot dog stands and
similar operations, and grocery stores and convenience stores selling prepared foods ready for
human consumption at a delicatessen counter.

Meal means any prepared food and or beverage as defined in this section offered or held out
for sale by a food establishment for the purpose of being consumed by any person to satisfy the
appetite and is ready for immediate consumption. All such food and beverage, unless otherwise
specifically exempted or excluded in this article, shall be included whether intended to be
consumed on the seller's premises or elsewhere, whether designated as breakfast, lunch,
snack, dinner, supper, or by some other name, and without regard to the manner, time, or place

of service.

Purchaser means any person who purchases food in or from a food establishment, caterer or
other vendor.

Seller means any person who sells food in or from a food establishment and any caterer.
(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)
Cross reference—Definitions generally, § 1-2.

*State law reference—County food and beverage tax, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3833 et seq.
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Sec. 38-107. Violation of article.

(a) Any person willfully failing or refusing to file a return as required under this article
shall, upon conviction thereof, be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable as provided in
section 1-15, except that any person failing to file such a return shall be guilty of a class 3
misdemeanor, punishable as provided in section 1-15, if the amount of tax lawfully assessed in
connection with the return is $1,000.00 or less. Any person violating or failing to comply with
any other provision of this article shall be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable as
provided in section 1-15.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (a) of this section, any corporate or partnership officer,
as defined in Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3906, or any other person required to collect, account for,
or pay over the meals tax imposed under this article, who willfully fails to collect or truthfully
account for or pay over such tax, or who willfully evades or attempts to evade such tax or
payment thereof, shall, in addition to any other penalties imposed by law, be guilty of a class
1 misdemeanor, punishable as provided in section 1-15.

(c) Each violation of or failure to comply with this article shall constitute a separate offense.
Conviction of any such violation shall not relieve any person from the payment, collection, or
remittance of the tax as provided in this article.

(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)

Sec. 38-108. Levy of tax amount.

There is hereby imposed and levied by the county on each person a tax at the rate of four
percent on the amount paid for food and beverages purchased from any food establishment,
whether prepared in such food establishment or not, and whether consumed on the premises
or not. In the computation of this tax, any fraction of one-half cent or more shall be treated as
$0.01.

(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)

Sec. 38-109. Exemptions.

(a) The tax imposed under this article shall not be levied on the following items when
served exclusively for off-premises consumption:

(1) Factory-prepackaged candy, gum, nuts, and other items of essentially the same nature.

(2)  Factory-prepackaged donuts, ice cream, crackers, nabs, chips, cookies, and items of
essentially the same nature.

(3)  Food sold in bulk. For the purposes of this provision, a bulk sale shall mean the sale
of any item that would exceed the normal, customary, and usual portion sold for on
premises consumption, e.g., a whole cake, a gallon of ice cream; a bulk sale shall not
include any food or beverage that is catered or delivered by a food establishment for
off-premises consumption.

(4) Alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverages sold in factory sealed containers.
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6))

(6)

Any food or food product purchased with food coupons issued by the United States
Department of Agriculture under the Food Stamp Program or drafts issued through
the Virginia Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children.

Any food or food product purchased for home consumption as defined in the federal
Food Stamp Act of 1977, 7 USC § 2012, as amended, except hot food or hot food
products ready for immediate consumption. For the purposes of administering the tax
levied under this article, the following items whether or not purchased for immediate
consumption are excluded from the definition of food in the federal Food Stamp Act:
sandwiches, salad bar items sold from a salad bar, prepackaged single-serving salads
consisting primarily of an assortment of vegetables, and nonfactory sealed beverages.
This subsection shall not affect provisions set forth in subsections (¢)(3), (4) and (5) of
this section.

(b) A grocery store, supermarket, or convenience store shall not be subject to the tax except
for any portion or section therein designated as a delicatessen or designated for the sale of
prepared food and beverages.

(¢) The tax imposed under this article shall not be levied on the following purchases of food
and beverages:

(1)

(2)

(3)

4)

(5)

(6)

(7

Food and beverages furnished by food establishments to employees as part of their
compensation when no charge is made to the employee.

Food and beverages sold by day care centers, public or private elementary or secondary
schools, or food sold by any college or university to its students or employees.

Food and beverages for use or consumption and which are paid for directly by the
commonwealth, any political subdivision of the commonwealth, or the United States.

Food and beverages furnished by a hospital, medical clinic, convalescent home,
nursing home, home for the aged, infirm, handicapped, battered women, narcotic
addicts or alcoholics, or other extended care facility to patients or residents thereof.

Food and beverages furnished by a public or private nonprofit charitable organization
or establishment or a private establishment that contracts with the appropriate
agency of the commonwealth to offer meals at concession prices to elderly, infirm,
blind, handicapped or needy persons in their homes or at central locations.

Food and beverages sold on an occasional basis by a nonprofit educational, charitable
or benevolent organization, church, or religious body as a fundraising activity, the
gross proceeds of which are to be used by such organization exclusively for nonprofit
educational, charitable, benevolent or religious purposes.

Food and beverages sold through vending machines.

(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)
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Sec. 38-110. Gratuities and service charges.

(a) When a purchaser provides a gratuity for an employee of a seller, and the amount of the
gratuity is wholly in the discretion of the purchaser, the gratuity is not subject to the tax
imposed by this article, whether paid in cash to the employee or added to the bill and charged
to the purchaser's account, provided, in the latter case, the full amount of the gratuity is
turned over to the employee by the seller.

(b) An amount or percent, whether designated as a gratuity, tip or service charge, that is
added to the price of the food and beverages by the seller and required to be paid by the
purchaser as part of the selling price of the food and beverages is subject to the tax imposed
by this article.

(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)

Sec. 38-111. Collection of tax by seller.

(a) Every person receiving any payments for food and beverages with respect to which a tax
is levied under this article shall collect and remit the amount of the tax imposed by this article
from the person on whom the same is levied or from the person paying for such food and
beverages at the time payment for such food is made; provided, however, no blind person
operating a vending stand or other business enterprise under the jurisdiction of the
department for the visually handicapped and located on property acquired and used by the
United States for any military or naval purpose shall be required to collect or remit such taxes.

(b) All tax collections shall be deemed to be held in trust for the county.
(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)

Sec. 38-112. Report of taxes collected; remittance; preservation of records.

It shall be the duty of every person required by this article to pay to the county the taxes
imposed by this article to file a report thereof with the commissioner setting forth such
information as the commissioner may prescribe and require, including all purchases taxable
under this article, the amount charged to the purchaser for each such purchase, the date
thereof, the taxes collected thereon and the amount of tax required to be collected by this
article. The report and remittance of the tax shall be made on or before the twentieth day of
each month covering the amount of the tax collected during the preceding month. Such records
shall be kept and preserved for a period of five years. The commissioner or his duly authorized
agent shall have the power to examine such records at reasonable times for the purpose of
administering and enforcing the provisions of this article and to make transcripts of all or any
parts thereof.

(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000; Ord. No. 05-09, § 4, 9-13-2005)

Sec. 38-113. Enforcement; duty of commissioner of the revenue.

The commissioner shall promulgate rules and regulations for the interpretation, adminis-
tration, and enforcement of this article. It shall also be the duty of the commissioner to
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ascertain the name of every seller liable for the collection of the tax imposed by this article who
fails, refuses, or neglects to collect such tax or to make the reports and remittances required
by this article. The commissioner shall have all of the enforcement powers as authorized by
Code of Virginia, tit. 58.1, as amended, for purposes of this article.

(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)

Sec. 38-114. Duty of county treasurer.

The county treasurer shall have the power and duty of collecting the taxes imposed and
levied under this article and shall cause the same to be paid into the general treasury for the
county. The treasurer shall have all of the enforcement powers as authorized by Code of
Virginia, tit. 58.1, as amended, for purposes of this article.

(Ord. No. 00-10, 10-17-2000)

Secs. 38-115—38-140. Reserved.

ARTICLE V. CONSUMER UTILITY TAX*

Sec. 38-141. Definitions.

For the purpose of this article, except where the context clearly indicates a different
meaning, the following words and phrases shall have the meanings respectively ascribed to
them by this section:

Commercial or industrial user means the owner or tenant of property used for commercial,
industrial, or any other purposes, except private residential property, who pays for utility
service for such property.

Public safety agency means a functional division of a public agency which provides
firefighting, police, medical or other emergency services or a private entity which provides
such services on a voluntary basis.

Public safety answering point shall be as defined in Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3813.1.
Purchaser means every person who purchases a utility service.

Residential user means the owner or tenant of private residential property who pays for
utility service in or for such property.

Service provider and provider of billing services have the same meanings as provided in
Code of Virginia, § 58.1-2901 E, and "class" of consumers means a category of consumers
defined as a class by their service provider.

*State law reference—Authority to impose tax, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3814.
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Utility services means local exchange telephone service, electrical service, and gas service
furnished within the county.
(Ord. No. 092-03, § I, 6-1-1992)

Cross reference—Definitions generally, § 1-2.

Sec. 38-142. Imposed; amount; exclusions.

(a) Imposition. There is hereby imposed and levied by the county upon every purchaser of
a utility service a tax in the amount of 20 percent of the charge, exclusive of any federal tax
thereon, made by the service provider against the purchaser with respect to each utility
service.

(b) No tax on bills in excess of $15.00. In case any monthly bill submitted on any service
provider for residential utility service shall exceed $15.00 for a residential user, there shall be
no tax computed on so much of such bill as shall exceed $15.00. There shall be no tax computed
on bills submitted for electric service for heating water and space heating where a separate
meter is used solely for water heating and space heating service or on bills submitted for
unmetered electric service.

(¢) Apartment houses and multiple-family dwellings. In the case of any apartment house or
other multiple-family dwelling using gas service through one or more master meters, the sum
of $15.00 shall be multiplied by the number of dwelling units served and, for electric service,
the sum of $15.00 shall be multiplied by the number of dwelling units served.

(d) Commercial and industrial service. In case any monthly bill submitted by any service
provider for commercial or industrial utility service shall exceed $45.00, there shall be no tax
computed on so much of such bill as shall exceed $45.00.

(e) Considered monthly bills. For the purposes of this section, bills shall be considered
monthly bills, if submitted 12 times per year for periods of approximately one month each.

State law reference—Authority for above tax, Code of Virginia, §§ 58.1-3812, 58.1-3814.
(Ord. No. 092-03, § II, 6-1-1992)

Sec. 38-143. Tax on consumers of electricity.

The following tax is hereby levied on consumers of electricity provided by electrical
suppliers:

(1) Residential customers—$0.01515 per kilowatt hour (kwh) with a minimum tax of
$1.50 per month and a maximum tax of $3.00 per month.

(2) Commercial customers—$0.01700 per kilowatt hour (kwh) delivered including cus-
tomer charges minimum tax of $1.50 per month and a maximum tax of $9.00 per
month.

(3) Industrial customers—$0.01525 per kilowatt hour (kwh) delivered including customer
charges minimum tax of $1.50 per month and a maximum charge of $9.00 per month.
(Ord. of 10-17-2000)
State law reference—Levy on kilowatt hours, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3814F.
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Sec. 38-144. Computation when service charges collected on other than monthly
basis.

In all cases where the service provider collects the price for utility services other than on a
monthly basis, the tax imposed and levied by this article may be computed on the aggregate
amount of purchases during the period billed for. The amount of tax to be collected shall be the
nearest whole cent to the amount computed and such tax shall not exceed the sum of $3.00 for
residential users of electricity, gas, or telephone service, or $100.00 for commercial or
industrial users per month, multiplied by the number of months, or portion thereof, covered by
the bill.

(Ord. No. 092-03, § 111, 6-1-1992)

Sec. 38-145. Applicability to telephone service.

The tax imposed and levied by this article with respect to local exchange telephone service
shall apply to all charges made for local exchange telephone service, except local messages
which are paid for by inserting coins in coin-operated telephones.

(Ord. No. 092-03, § IV, 6-1-1992)

Sec. 38-146. Exemptions.
(a) The tax imposed and levied by this article shall not apply to the purchase of bottled gas.

(b) The United States of America, the state, and the political subdivision, boards, commis-
sions, and authorities thereof are hereby exempted from the payment of the tax imposed and
levied by this article with respect to the purchase of utility services used by such governmental
agencies.

(c) There shall be no tax computed on bills submitted on sales of utility service for resale.

(d) There shall be no tax computed on bills submitted on sales of utility service to a public
safety agency and a public safety answering point.
(Ord. No. 092-03, § V, 6-1-1992)

Sec. 38-147. Duty of purchaser to pay.

The tax imposed by this article shall be paid by the purchaser to the service provider, for the
use of the county, at the time the purchase price or charge for the utility service becomes due
and payable under the agreement between the purchaser and the service provider.

(Ord. No. 092-03, § VI, 6-1-1992)

Sec. 38-148. Duty of service provider to collect report and remit.

(a) It shall be the duty of every service provider, in acting as the tax collecting medium or
agency for the county, to collect from the purchaser, for the use of the county, the tax imposed
and levied by this article at the time of collecting the purchase price charged for the utility
service. Taxes so collected during each calendar month shall be reported by each service
provider to the county treasure and each service provider shall remit the amount of tax shown
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by such report to have been collected to the county treasurer on or before the last day of the
first calendar month thereafter, together with the name and address of any purchaser who has
refused to pay his tax. The required reports shall be in the form prescribed by the county
treasurer.

(b) The county treasurer may extend, for good cause shown, the time of filing any report
required by the provisions of this section; provided, however, that no such extension shall
exceed a period of 90 days.

(Ord. No. 092-03, § VII, 6-1-1992)

Sec. 38-149. Service provider's records.

Each service provider shall keep complete records showing all purchases of utility services
in the county, which records shall show the price charged against each purchaser with respect
to each purchase, the date thereof, the date of payment thereof, and the amount of tax imposed
under this article. Such records shall be kept open for inspection by the duly authorized agents
of the county at reasonable times, and the duly authorized agents of the county shall have the
right, power and authority to make transcripts thereof.

(Ord. No. 092-03, § VIII, 6-1-1992)

Sec. 38-150. Failure of purchaser to pay; violations of article by service provider.

Any purchaser failing, refusing, or neglecting to pay the tax imposed or levied by this article
and any service provider violating the provisions of this article, and any officer, agent, or
employee of any service provider violating the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a class
4 misdemeanor. Each failure, refusal, neglect, or violation, and each day's continuance thereof,
shall constitute a separate offense.

(Ord. No. 092-03, § IX, 6-1-1992)

Secs. 38-151—38-175. Reserved.

ARTICLE VI. UTILITIES LICENSE TAX*

Seec. 38-176. Exclusions.
Gross receipts shall not include:
(1) In the case of telephone companies, charges for long distance telephone calls;

(2) Any amount paid to the United States, the commonwealth, or the county for the state
retail sales or use tax, for any county sales tax, for any federal or state excise taxes on
motor fuels, or any amount paid to or by oil companies as defined in Code of Virginia,
§ 58.1-2302, resulting from the oil company excise tax as set forth in Code of Virginia,
tit. 58.1, ch. 23.

(Ord. of 6-20-1989, § 2)

*State law reference—Authority to levy tax, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3731.
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Sec. 38-177. Penalty.

Any company, person, or corporation failing to pay such taxes into the county treasury
within the time prescribed in this article shall incur a penalty thereon as provided by Code of
Virginia, § 58.1-3916, and interest thereon, as provided by Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3918.
(Ord. of 6-20-1989, § 6)

Sec. 38-178. Tax imposed.

There is hereby imposed and levied upon every telephone and telegraph companies, and
upon every heat, light, and power companies, a license tax of one-half of one percent of the
annual gross receipts of such companies accruing from sales to the ultimate consumer in the
county.

(Ord. of 6-20-1989, § 1)

Sec. 38-179. When receipts ascertained.

Gross receipts shall be ascertained as of December 31 of each year, and the tax shall be
based on receipts for the preceding 12 months.
(Ord. of 6-20-1989, § 3)

Sec. 38-180. Assessment of tax.

Each company, person or corporation liable for the tax imposed by this article shall file with
the commissioner of revenue a return on or before April 1 of each year certifying the taxzable
gross receipts for the previous calendar year and the amount of tax due. The commissioner of
revenue shall review all such returns for accuracy and completeness and may request
additional documentation as to gross receipts. The commissioner shall keep a list of each
company, person or corporation liable for the tax imposed by this article and shall promptly
notify any such company, person or corporation that fails to file a return of the requirement of
a return; provided, however, the failure of the commissioner of revenue to obtain a return shall
in no manner diminish the obligation of the taxpayer to file the required return and pay the
required tax without being called upon to do so by the commissioner of revenue or any other
officer. The commissioner of revenue shall have all the enforcement powers authorized by Code
of Virginia, tit. 58.1, for the purposes of administration and enforcement of this article.
(Ord. of 6-20-1989, § 4; Ord. No. 05-08, § 1, 8-9-2005)

Sec. 38-181. Collection of tax.

The tax imposed by this article on gross receipts for the preceding calendar year shall be due
and payable to the Treasurer on or before June 1 of each year. The treasurer shall have the
power and duty of collecting the tax imposed and levied under this article and shall cause the
same to be paid into the general treasury of the county. The treasurer shall have all the
enforcement powers authorized by Code of Virginia, tit. 58.1, as amended, for the purposes of
administration and enforcement of this article.

(Ord. of 6-20-1989, § 5; Ord. No. 05-08, § 2, 8-9-2005)
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Secs. 38-182—38-205. Reserved.

ARTICLE VII. MOTOR VEHICLE TAX*

Sec. 38-206. License tax.

There is hereby levied an annual license tax in the amount of $23.00 on every motor vehicle
except motorcycles. The annual license tax on motorcycles shall be $15.00.
(Ord. No. 098-03, § 2, 6-16-1998; Ord. No. 05-02, § 1, 5-10-2005)

Sec. 38-207. License tax year.

The sale of county motor vehicle licenses shall commence on March 1 of each year. Licenses
shall expire on April 15 of each year.
(Ord. No. 098-03, § 3, 6-16-1998)

Sec. 38-208. Application.

(a) Every motor vehicle intended to be used or operated upon the streets and highways
within the county shall be subject to a license tax as provided in this article. It shall be
unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle on any street, highway, road, or other
traveled way within the county unless the license decal required by this article is displayed
thereon as required in this section.

(b) The provisions of this article, however, shall not be construed to apply to motor vehicles,
trailers, or semitrailers owned by the commonwealth, by any political subdivision of the
commonwealth, or by the United States government, or to vehicles held for sale by any
manufacturer or dealer, or any motor vehicle, truck, or trailer owned by a public service
authority created by the county pursuant to the statutory authority of the Code of Virginia or
to require a license tax of any person exempted therefrom under the provisions of the Code of
Virginia.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 1, 6-16-1998)

Sec. 38-209. Penalty.

(a) A violation of any provision of this article shall constitute a class 4 misdemeanor.

(b) A violation of the requirements of this article that a current county license tag be
obtained and displayed shall not be discharged by payment of a fine except upon presentation
of satisfactory evidence that the required license has been obtained.

*Cross reference—Traffic and vehicles, ch. 42.
State law reference—Tax and license fees authorized, Code of Virginia, § 46.2-752.
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(c) As permitted by rule of the 25th Judicial Circuit, a person charged under this article
may enter a written appearance, waiver of court hearing and plea of guilty upon presentation
of a receipt from the treasurer for the issuance of a current county license tag and payment of
a fine in the amount of $20.00 and a processing fee in the amount of $66.00.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 12, 6-16-1998; Ord. of 5-10-2005, § 1)

Sec. 38-210. Proration.

Only one-half of the licensed tax prescribed by this article shall be assessed and collected
whenever any such license tax first becomes assessable during the period beginning on
October 1 of any year; and only one-third of such license tax shall be assessed and collected
whenever any such license tax first becomes assessable after January 15 in the same license
tax year. Each license issued upon the payment of the license tax thereon shall expire at the
end of the license year in which the same is issued.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 4, 6-16-1998)

Sec. 38-211. Issuing license decals.

Any person owning, leasing, or having control of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer
coming under the provisions of this article shall make application for license upon forms
supplied by the commissioner of the revenue of the county, and upon payment of the required
license tax, the person shall be issued, as evidence of payment, decals or windshield stickers
which shall be placed on the lower right corner of the windshield adjacent to the state
inspection sticker and on a level with the inspection sticker of the vehicle, so licensed, so as to
be visible in a manner similar to the inspection sticker without impairing the visibility of the
driver of the vehicle. Failure to display decals or windshield stickers shall be considered a
violation of this article even though the license tax has been paid. It shall be unlawful for any
person to whom a decal or windshield sticker is issued upon payment of any license tax
prescribed in this article to give, loan, rent, sell, assign, or transfer such decal or windshield
sticker during the license tax year for which the same is issued.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 5, 6-16-1998)

Sec. 38-212. Personal property.

No vehicle shall be licensed under the provisions of this article unless and until the
applicant for such license shall have produced satisfactory evidence that all personal property
taxes upon the vehicle to be licensed have been paid and until the applicant shall have
produced satisfactory evidence that any delinquent personal property taxes on any vehicles
which have been properly assessed or are assessable against the applicant by the county have
been paid. Further, no motor vehicle license shall be issued unless the tangible personal
property taxes properly assessed or assessable by the county on any tangible personal property
used or usable as a dwelling titled by the department of motor vehicles and owned by the
taxpayer have been paid.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 6, 6-16-1998)
State law reference—Similar provisions, Code of Virginia, § 46.2-752.

Supp. No. 2 CD38:20



TAXATION § 38-217

Sec. 38-213. Replacement of decals under certain conditions; transfers; duplicates.

(a) In the event that any decal or windshield sticker issued under the provisions of this
article shall be lost or mutilated or shall have been rendered illegible, the person who is
entitled thereto shall make immediate application for and obtain a duplicate or substitute
therefor upon furnishing information of such fact satisfactory to the commissioner of the
revenue of the county and upon payment of $1.00. An owner who sells or transfers a motor
vehicle licensed under the provisions of this article may obtain a duplicate or substitute decal
or windshield sticker for transfer to another vehicle titled in such owner's name upon
application to the commissioner of the revenue of the county and upon payment of $1.00.

(b) Upon application for such transfer, the owner shall present to the commissioner of the
revenue the decal or windshield sticker, or a portion thereof bearing the license number, issued
to him for such vehicle sold or transferred.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 7, 6-16-1998)

Sec. 38-214. Exemptions.

Nothing in this article shall be construed to require a license tax of a person, firm, or
corporation exempted under the provisions of the laws of the state, or upon any motor vehicle
or trailer not required to be licensed by the motor vehicle laws of the state.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 8, 6-16-1998)
State law reference—Exemptions, Code of Virginia, § 46.2-752.

Sec. 38-215. Revenue.

The revenue derived from all county motor vehicle licenses under this law shall be paid into
the general county fund of the county.
(Ord. No. 098-03, § 9, 6-16-1998)

Sec. 38-216. Reciprocity.

The license required by this article shall not be applicable to motor vehicles owned by
persons establishing residence within the county after April 16 of any license year, provided
that payment of a similar license tax was paid to the county, city, or town from which the new
resident just moved is evidenced by a current license plate, stamp, or sticker displayed upon
the vehicle issued by that county, city, or town.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 10, 6-16-1998)

Sec. 38-217. Regional enforcement.

(a) It shall further be unlawful for any person to operate a motor vehicle, trailer, or
semitrailer from a situs jurisdiction which is a party to a regional enforcement compact with
the county on any street, highway, road, or other traveled way in the county unless a valid local
license decal issued by the appropriate situs jurisdiction of such vehicle is displayed thereon
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as required by the law of such situs locality. The fact that the current license tax of the situs
jurisdiction has been paid on such vehicle shall not bar prosecution of a violation of this
section.

(b) Any violation of this section may not be discharged by payment of a fine except upon
presentation of satisfactory evidence that the required license plate, tag, or decal required in
this article has been obtained. Any fine paid under this section shall be deposited to the credit
of the general fund of the county, and no accounting need be made thereof to the situs
jurisdiction of such vehicle.

(c) The county administrator is hereby authorized to execute and attest, respectively, an
agreement with any jurisdiction in the state, to provide for enforcement of the local motor
vehicle license requirements of such other localities pursuant to Code of Virginia, § 46.2-
752(k), as amended.

(Ord. No. 098-03, § 11, 6-16-1998)

Secs. 38-218—38-250. Reserved.

ARTICLE VIII. E 911 SERVICE TAX*

Sec. 38-251. Definitions.

The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this article, shall have the meanings
ascribed to them in this section, except where the context clearly indicates a different meaning:

Automatic location identification and ALI mean a telephone network capability that enables
the automatic display of information defining the geographical location of the telephone used
to place a wireline 911 call.

Automatic number identification and ANI mean a telephone network capability that enables
the automatic display of the telephone number used to place a wireline 911 call.

Enhanced 911 service and E 911 mean a service consisting of telephone network features
and public safety answering points provided for users of telephone systems, enabling such
users to reach a PSAP by dialing the digits "911." Such service automatically directs 911
emergency telephone calls to the appropriate PSAP by selective routing based on the
geographical location from which the emergency call originated and provides the capability for
ANI and ALI features.

Local exchange carrier means any public service company granted a certificate to furnish
public utility service for the provision of local exchange telephone service pursuant to the Code
of Virginia, §§ 56-265.1—56-265.9.

*State law reference—Authority to impose tax, Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3813.1.
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Public safety answering point and PSAP mean a communications facility associated with a
county public safety agency, equipped and staffed on a 24-hour basis to receive and process 911
calls.

(Ord. No. 02-05, § 1, 5-21-2002)
Cross reference—Definitions generally, § 1-2.

Sec. 38-252. Establishment of E 911 system; use of tax revenues.

(a) The county board of supervisors hereby finds and declares that an E 911 service network
linking the PSAPs serving the county has been established within the county, or that such a
system will be established in the foreseeable future and that imposition of the E 911 tax is
necessary at this time to accumulate revenues to fund the creation of such system.

(b) The revenues received by the county from the tax imposed by this article shall be used
solely to pay for the reasonable, direct recurring and nonrecurring capital costs, and operating
expenses incurred by the public safety answering point in designing, upgrading, leasing,
purchasing, programming, installing, testing, administering, delivering, or maintaining all
necessary data, hardware and software required to receive and process emergency telephone
calls through such E 911 gystem, including salaries and fringe benefits of dispatchers and
direct call takers of the E 911 system and costs incurred in training dispatchers and direct call
takers in receiving and dispatching emergency telephone calls, and the salary and fringe
benefits of the public safety answering point director or coordinator so long as such person has
no other duties other than the responsibility for the public safety answering point, or any other
uses that may be authorized by Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3818.1.

(Ord. No. 02-05, § 2, 5-21-2002)

Sec. 38-253. Violations and penalties.

Any telephone service customer who neglects, fails or refuses to pay the tax imposed by this
article, and any local exchange carrier who neglects, fails or refuses to bill, collect, account for
and remit such tax as required by this article, shall be guilty of a class 4 misdemeanor
punishable as provided in section 1-15 of this Code. Each day such neglect, failure or refusal
continues shall constitute a separate offense.

(Ord. No. 02-05, § 7, 5-21-2002)

Sec. 38-254. Imposition of tax; annual establishment of rate.

A special tax is hereby imposed on the county consumers of the services furnished by local
exchange carriers certified to provide wireline telephone services within the county. Such tax
is imposed at the rate of $1.50 per month per customer access line, or at such lower monthly
rate as the county board of supervisors shall establish from time to time to ensure that the
revenues collected do not exceed the amounts necessary to accomplish the purposes for which
such revenues may lawfully be used.

(Ord. No. 02-05, § 3, 5-21-2002)
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Sec. 38-255. Exclusions and exemptions.
The local E 911 tax shall not be imposed on:
(1) Services furnished to federal, state or local government agencies.

(2) Wireless telephone or commercial mobile radio services that are subject to the wireless
E 911 surcharge imposed by the commonwealth.

(3) Individual telephone service provided to residents of nursing homes and similar adult
care facilities.
(Ord. No. 02-05, § 4, 5-21-2002)

Sec. 38-256. Collection and payment of tax.

(a) It shall be the duty of each local exchange carrier certified to serve the county or areas
thereof to bill and collect the tax monthly on each customer access line that is subject to the
tax. The county administrator is authorized and directed to notify all such carriers of the tax
by sending such notification by certified mail to the registered agent of each local exchange
carrier, and to notify the registered agent of such changes in the rate thereof as may be adopted
from time to time.

(b) Each local exchange carrier shall report and pay over all taxes collected in each calendar
month to the county treasurer by the last business day of the second calendar month
thereafter. The carrier shall be deemed to hold such collected taxes in trust for the benefit of
the county and the E 911 system until they are remitted to the treasurer.

(¢) Each such local exchange carrier shall also report monthly to the treasurer the names
and addresses of any customers with service addresses in the county who have failed or
refused to pay the tax as billed. Each carrier's records of the billing and collection of the local
E 911 tax shall be available for inspection by the treasurer or other duly authorized agents of
the county upon reasonable notice and during normal business hours.

(d) As compensation for billing, collecting, accounting for and remitting the local E 911 tax,
each carrier shall be entitled to deduct and keep three percent of the amount of the tax
collected from the individual consumers.

(Ord. No. 02-05, § 5, 5-21-2002)

Sec. 38-257. Accounting for tax receipts and E 911 expenditures.

The county administrator and treasurer shall account for the local E 911 tax in a separate
special revenue fund or by using a cost center and revenue accounting system acceptable to the
state auditor of public accounts. Revenues expenditures and balances of such fund or cost
center shall be reported in the manner required by Code of Virginia, § 15.2-2510 and other
applicable state laws or regulations. The annual independent audit of county funds shall
include audit procedures, consistent with state requirements, to ensure that revenues from the
E 911 tax are expended solely to pay eligible costs as defined in section 38-252 and applicable
provisions of state law.

(Ord. No. 02-05, § 6, 5-21-2002)
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Secs. 38-258—38-299. Reserved.

ARTICLE IX. TRANSIENT OCCUPANCY TAX*

Sec. 38-300. Transient occupancy tax—Levied.

(a) There is hereby levied a transient occupancy tax on hotels, motels, boarding houses,
travel campgrounds, and other facilities offering guest rooms or space rented out for
continuous occupancy of fewer than 30 consecutive days. Such tax shall be assessed at five
percent of the amount charged for the occupancy of any room or space. The report of taxes
collected required by Code of Virginia, § 38.1-602, and the taxes collected by any hotel, motel,
boarding house, travel campground or other facility shall be due and remitted to the treasurer
of the county on or before the twentieth day of each month covering the amount of taxes
collected during the preceding month.

(b) All funds collected by any hotel, motel, boarding house, travel campground, or other
facility shall be held in trust for the County of Craig and shall be collectible through any means
otherwise provided by law to the Treasurer of the County of Craig, Virginia.

(¢) The revenues collected from that portion of the tax over two percent shall be designated
and spent for promoting tourism, travel or business that generates tourism or travel for Craig
County.

(Ord. No. 04-05, 5-18-2004; Ord. No. 05-06, 5-10-2005; Ord. No. 05-09, § 5, 9-13-2005)

Sec. 38-301. Violation of article.

(a) Any person willfully failing or refusing to file a return as required under this article
shall, upon conviction thereof, be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable as provided in
section 1-15, except that any person failing to file such return shall be guilty of a class 3
misdemeanor, punishable as provided in section 1-15, if the amount of tax lawfully assessed in
connection with the return is $1,000.00 or less. Any person violating or failing to comply with
any other provision of this article shall be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable as
provided in section 1-15.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (a) of this section, any corporate or partnership officer,
as defined in Code of Virginia, § 58.1-3906, or any other person required to collect, account for
or pay over the tax imposed under this article, who willfully fails to collect or truthfully
account for and pay over such tax, or who willfully evades or attempts to evade such tax or
payment thereof, shall, in addition to any other penalties imposed by law, be guilty of a class
1 misdemeanor, punishable as provided in section 1-15.

*Editor’s note—Ord. No. 04-05, adopted May 18, 2004, set out provisions intended for use
as Art. X, Miscellaneous Taxes. For purposes of classification, and at the concurrence of the
county, these provisions have been redesignated as Art. IX, Transient Occupancy Tax.
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(c) Each violation of or failure to comply with this article shall constitute a separate offense.
Conviction of any such violation shall not relieve any person from the payment, collection, or
remittance of the tax as provided in this article.

(Ord. No. 05-09, § 6, 9-13-2005)

Sec. 38-302. Collection and report of taxes collected.

Every person receiving any payment for the occupancy of any room or space with respect to
which a tax is levied under this article shall collect and remit the amount of the tax imposed
by this article from the person paying for the occupancy of any room or space at the time
payment is made. It shall be the duty of every person required by this article to pay to the
county the taxes imposed by this article to file a report thereof with the commissioner setting
forth such information as the commissioner may prescribe and require, including an enumer-
ation of all charges for the occupancy of any room or space, the amount charged in each case,
the date thereof, the taxes collected thereon and the amount of tax required to be collected by
this article. The report and remittance of the tax shall be made on or before the twentieth day
of each month covering the amount of tax collected during the preceding month. Such records
shall be kept and preserved for a period of five years. The commissioner or his or her duly
authorized agent shall have the power to examine such records at reasonable times for the
purpose of administering and enforcing the provisions of this article and to make transeripts
of all or any parts thereof.

(Ord. No. 05-09, § 7, 9-13-2005)

Sec. 38-303. Enforcement; duty of commissioner of the revenue.

The commissioner shall promulgate rules and regulations for the interpretation, adminis-
tration and enforcement of this article. It shall be the duty of the commissioner to ascertain the
name of every person liable for the collection of the tax imposed by this article who fails,
refuses or neglects to collect such tax or to make the reports and remittances required by this
article. The commissioner shall have all the enforcement powers as authorized by Code of
Virginia, tit. 58.1, as amended, for purposes of this article.

(Ord. No. 05-09, § 8, 9-13-2005)

Sec. 38-304. Duty of county treasurer.

The county treasurer shall have the power and duty of collecting the taxes imposed and
levied under this article and shall cause the same to be paid into the general treasury for the
county. The treasurer shall have all the enforcement powers as authorized by Code of Virginia,
tit. 58.1, as amended, for purposes of this article.

(Ord. No. 05-09, § 9, 9-13-2005)
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