Voter’s Registration Office

If you have questions concerning local elections, you wish to register to vote, or would like to serve your community on election day, please call the Voter’s Registration Office in Craig County at: (540) 864-6190  or email:

Joanna Ryan,  Registrar

RegistrarThe office is located at 155 Main Street in New Castle next door to the Health Department.

OFFICE HOURS: Monday through Friday from 8:00 am until 4:00 pm

General Election November 8. 2022 Election Notification (Click Here)

SAMPLE BALLOTS – November 8, 2022

General Election Information (click website)

In order to be qualified to register to vote, you must:


  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be a resident of Virginia
  • Be at least 18 years of age by the next general election
  • Not be a convicted felon or have had your voting rights restored
  • Not have been declared mentally incapacitated or have had your disabilities removed

Registration closes 22 days prior to any general or primary election. You can register online, in person at the General Registrar’s Office, public assistance agencies such as the Department of Social Services or the Department of Health in the Commonwealth, Department of Motor Vehicles, military recruitment offices or through the mail. A Virginia Voter Registration Application can be found here:

Uniformed Military and Overseas Voters please visit the website at

Absentee Voting information please visit the website at:   

Officers of Election – Poll Workers are Needed!!

Please reach out to the Voter Registration Office to find out how you can keep democracy in your community.

Electoral Board Of Craig County

The Electoral Board is made up of three members who serve three-year staggered terms.  Two members are members of the political party of the most recently elected governor.  The chair and secretary must represent different political parties unless the position is declined.  Although the bipartisan board is appointed by the Circuit Court based upon local party recommendations, each member must carry out official duties in a nonpartisan manner.  The authority for the administration of all aspects of elections for the locality remains with the Electoral Board, including oversight of the General Registrar/Director of Elections, and is responsible to the State Board of Elections for that administration.  It employs and supervises the General Registrar, who handles voter records.

Electoral Board Chair:  Linda Calderon

Electoral Board Secretary: Tina Howard

Electoral Board Vice Chair: OPEN

Minutes 2.21.19





Canvass 11.6.19












Sign Up for Craig County Updates

Sign Up for Craig County Updates

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates about Craig County government and community.

You have Successfully Subscribed!